Genius Hour with Zahra

BRIDAL HENNA

Week 1: Practicing Basic Henna Designs

For the first week I decided to practice simple henna designs since it had been at around a month since I last did henna. To practice, I used a regular cone and created my designs on paper. Bridal henna usually consists of these designs but put together, so this was a great way to practice. Here are the designs I made on paper using henna

In design 1 (top left corner), my hand was shaking quite a bit, therefore, the design didn’t come out as neat as it could’ve been, however, as you go on to design 4 & 5 the designs are much neater since my hand didn’t move a bit. This was mainly since I didn’t do henna for at least a month so it took some time to warm up. One thing I think I can improve on is that design 2’s main panel should’ve been larger since the intersecting lines did not leave enought room for the leaves in each diamond. Another place where there is room for improvement is the bottom panel in design 2. I should’ve spent more time marking out the stem-like designs (where there isn’t henna) to create a more neat look. On the other hand, design 3, 5, and 6 were all very well-done since they are all neat, precise, and detailed. As for time, these designs took me about 1 1/2 hours which wasn’t my ideal goal. These designs should’ve taken me only 40-60 minutes. Overall, I think this was a great way to practice and there is still lots of room for improvement.

zahraott22 • April 3, 2023


Previous Post

Next Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published / Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar